Beta Club Fall Induction Ceremony

Beta Club Fall Induction Ceremony
Posted on 11/18/2014
Beta Lighting of Candles

Twenty new Beta members were inducted into the Amelia County High School Chapter of the National Beta Club on November 18, 2014.  Guest speaker was Mr. Jack McKinley, superintendent of Amelia County Public Schools.  He spoke about the importance of leadership and what it really means to “lead by serving others.” Mr. McKinley gave examples of young adults across the world who have shown leadership and strong character while being in dire circumstances.

President Heather Wells gave the requirements for membership and spoke about the purposes of the Beta club.  Included in that were the keys of character, service, leadership, and achievement.  Vice president Alyssa Hensley told about the Key of Character and that different metals – dependability, humility, justice, compassion, and integrity are fused into it.  Secretary Jessie Stanley spoke about the Key of Service and how it is the master of all keys and that it cannot be worn out.  Beta member Darnesha Jones commented on the Key of Leadership and that it is difficult to own and that it unlocks doors that lead all of us in some degree to influence our fellow men and women.  Finally, Beta member Rayshawn Booker spoke about the Key of Achievement.  He stated that this key is one that has to be won gradually through daily accomplishments that build up over time. 

The new members were inducted and represented by Senior Kayla Wiggins.  All members, both new and current, recited the pledge.  Following the ceremony, parents and members enjoyed refreshments.

A few activities that the Beta club has participated in include a bake sale to support the Wounded Warriors Foundation, the Trunk-or-Treat sponsored by the Boosters club, a Thanksgiving food drive in memory of Ms. Nettie Givens to support the local food bank, and the local Christmas mother.  The club has plans to participate in several other community service activities during the remainder of the school year.

Beta Inductees
Beta Inductees: Amanda Berger, Kennedi Booker, Ryan Dawson, Tatum Elliott, Lauren Foore, Andrew Ford, Bryan Harris, Cody Hawkins, Courtney Langford, Finn McKinley, Eric Medley, Sara Morrison, Jessica Newcomb, Liam Rupkey, Peter Rupkey, Chynna Smith, Patrick Tanner, Kayla Wiggins, Kayla Williams, and Brad Wudski

Website by SchoolMessenger Presence. © 2018 West Corporation. All rights reserved.